Sanket’s Review: “Rowdy Rathore” celebrates its bizarreness!

Cast: Akshay Kumar, Sonakshi Sinha.

Director: Prabhudeva.

Length: 2.20 hours approximately.

If you are intelligent enough and if you raise your eyebrow in embarrassment at a scene where the goon bounces like dancing ball after getting hit by the hero, then I strongly advise you to sit at home and do not dare watch ROWDY RATHORE. But, if you can sideline your intelligence to watch ROWDY RATHORE then one thing is for sure- entertainment will be served! Action, comedy, romance, drama and dialogue-baazi- everything is zany and very bizarre. And ROWDY RATHORE celebrates its bizarreness without compromising a single thing if it’s about entertainment.

The jokes even though aren’t quite new but Akshay Kumar makes each one funny, and he proves his comic timing yet again. The first half has ample comic moments where you go within the feel of the film. Yes, the director throws some random portions of story in middle, but the story hardly skates ahead. The problem is the use of those two songs (Chammak Challo and tera Pyaar Teekha) which aren’t quite catchy as well brings down the momentum suddenly.

Its second half where the film has many claptrap sequences. Especially all the dialogues which finds place in second half increases the excitement. More than revenge story, it becomes episode on protagonist’s rowdiness! Its fun and fast and also supremely entertaining. In climax, just when you think that goons are finished up the director brings in more goons and expands the length. The climax isn’t bad, but it should’ve been the best part of the film, which it is not at all! Second half has two of the best songs in the album (Aa re pritam and Dhadangg). The scene just after Aa re Pritam Pyaare is the best scene of the film and one of the best scenes this year.

Sajid Wajid’s music is good. Three excellent songs (Aa re pritam, Dhadangg and Chinta tata) and two mediocre ones. The choreography definitely needs special mention. The ways the songs are choreographed are very different and refreshing. Dialogues are fabulous! Action is good, but its loud and sometimes very ordinary. Script and screenplay is something which the film gives least importance. Prabhudeva remains faithful to original version and thus successfully keeps the film high on entertainment level.

Akshay Kumar has delightful screen presence. His policemen job as well as the rowdy job is wonderfully done. Kudos! Sonakshi Sinha is good but she has very limited scope. Yashpal Sharma is very good. Everyone else does well in the film. Kareena kapoor’s presence is just WOW!

It’s a film which wants its audience to cry, laugh and get ANGRY towards goon. It do have some violent and blood-raining scenes, but then this is the hallmark of these films! Far from being perfect cinema, but it brings back fun on screen. Watch it if all you want is entertainment!

Rating- 3.5/5 (Very Good)

Tags:
18 Comments
  1. Baba Ji 8 years ago

    Thanks for review sanket.

    ” Action is good, but its loud and sometimes very ordinary. ”
    “The climax isn’t bad, but it should’ve been the best part of the film, which it is not at all!”

    This gave me hiccups,isnt this supposed to be an action film and ur saying action is not good?!

  2. narad_muni 8 years ago

    Sanku,
    thanks for the review….. Your review and rating don’t match..
    You hardly say too many positive things in the review but your rating is very good ?

    Btw,
    what is your BO lifetime prediction? What is the WOM?

  3. Author
    sanket porwal 8 years ago

    Baba- I said action is good. And climax is fine!

    And most importantly, RR has everything- comedy, action, drama and romance. Its perfect potboiler. So I wont term it an action film. There is many action scenes in second half, but there is drama as well. The scene after Aa re pritam pyaare is excellent and best scene of the film and its dramatic sequence. And again, action is good though loud!

    Shilac- Well 120-125 is what It will do I guess! WOM is good but nowhere close to Dabangg/Ready/Singham! WOM seems more in Agneepath way.

    And will you please let me know where did you feel that I am bashing more about the film. My last 4 paragraphs all has praises for RR if you had read. But anyways, let that be.

    • narad_muni 8 years ago

      one example – “Script and screenplay is something which the film gives least importance”

      So, u think there is no need for script and screenplay in a masala movie? How can it be very good without these?

  4. Author
    sanket porwal 8 years ago

    Shilac, do you think dabangg was liked for its story, otr for the way it was written? Or ready? or singham? RR is indifferent in terms of quality of script.

    And I said “least importance” and not “zero importance”

    • narad_muni 8 years ago

      screenplay is very important even for masala movies.
      A movie with a bad screenplay can’t be good, period.

  5. John Galt 8 years ago

    Dabangg was actually a good film and it had very little to do with story-screenplay. It was all Salman show.

    • narad_muni 8 years ago

      thanks…so Sallu can dance with his shirt off..n a movie will be gud! I rest my case.

      • John Galt 8 years ago

        narad_muni,

        There are a lot of things that can make a movie work and enertaining. For instance take a movie like DAUD (sanjay dutt/urmila) It doesn’t really boast of a fantastic script or screenplay but for me it stands as one of the big entertainers. similarly a movie like Padosan – what fantastic entertainer but if you look for even a decent screenplay, you may not find it there.

        Same was the case with Dabangg- the movie didn’t have a good script or screenplay (it may have had on paper but not on screen) but Salman made that movie what it is today. It was a one man show and fortunately the one man was enough.

        • aryan 8 years ago

          @John
          “Dabangg- the movie didn’t have a good script or screenplay but Salman made that movie what it is today. It was a one man show and fortunately the one man was enough.”

          I completely disagree. Dabangg had good script and screenplay and please don’t forget Abhinav Kashap’s Direction he utilized Salman very well.

          Salman has done lot of roles as Police Officer before Dabangg but in this movie according to me he has given fantastic performance. From starting to end he was in police officer’s character 50% credit goes to Abhinav Kashap and this is his debut movie.

          • John Galt 8 years ago

            aryan,

            There’s a difference between having a good screenplay and directing a screenplay. To me, it didnt appear as if Dabangg had a good screenplay although Abhinav did a fair job directing it. But what finally came out on screen was majorly a Salman show.

  6. Author
    sanket porwal 8 years ago

    Shilac- I wont utter anything if you think screenplay/script is backbone of masala films.

    Just one thing-Singham’s drama was excellent, thanks to dialogues and two spectacular acts. I dont need to say anything about dabangg- Its Salman who owns dabangg. Logic is something these potboilers never has and Screenplay is sometimes written to bridge the gap, or answer the unanswered questions (basically, adding logic).

    • narad_muni 8 years ago

      Sir ji, script and screenplay are 2 different things.. screenplay is the backbone of all films including masala..otherwise a movie can’t b gud. Screenplay might not be logical or rational….

      Anyways, I rest my case. Lets move on.
      I hope u keep ur promise n dont utter a word 🙂

  7. aryan 8 years ago

    Good review Sanket.

    I liked the movie its a better movie if compare to Singham, and HF2.
    Good perfomance by Akshay in both roles songs are good action also OK and off course loopholes are there but at the end its is a good entertainment movie.

  8. Author
    sanket porwal 8 years ago

    Thanks Aryan.

  9. Author
    sanket porwal 8 years ago

    Just back from Rowdy Rathore…Second viewing 😀

    Well this time ofcourse I chose Single screens. And trust me, it was full of rowdies. I didn’t find a single women in theater. And it is the first film in recent times whose tickets are sold in black even on weekdays! Yes, its that cool here.

    Aa re Pritam Pyaare got maximum whistles…the family class people were literally dancing. The scene followed by that song (one of the best scenes this year) also got similar or bit less type of response.

    TOTAL DHAMAKA!

    • Ritz 8 years ago

      “I didn’t find a single women in theater”

      “the family class people were literally dancing”

      Ladies nahi hai to family nahi hoti.

      • sputnik 8 years ago

        “Ladies nahi hai to family nahi hoti.”

        LOL

Leave a reply

Log in with your credentials

or    

Forgot your details?

Create Account