World Champion India wins the last edition of Mini World Cup

Edgbaston: India’s bowlers defended a modest 129 runs to consign England to a five-run defeat in a thrilling Champions Trophy final here on Sunday. Ravichandran Ashwin took 2 wickets for 15 runs and Ravindra Jadeja bagged 2 for 24 as England’s heartbreak in the finals of ICC tournaments continued.

England lost four wickets in a space of eight balls as Ishant Sharma (2 for 36) turned the match on its head, ripping out the heart of the England middle order with back-to-back wickets in the 18th over.

A 64-run fifth-wicket stand between Eoin Morgan (33) and Ravi Bopara (30) threatened to take the game away from India but both fell attempting poor strokes against an otherwise expensive Ishant.

Man of the Match Jadeja bowled Jos Buttler on a duck and Tim Bresnan was run out by Rohit Sharma for 2 as England needed 19 runs from 12 balls to win. Ashwin bowled a tight last over as India won their second Champions Trophy after sharing the title with Sri Lanka in 2002.

On a day when rain played havoc, the final, which started six hours behind schedule, was reduced to 20-overs-a side. After being put into bat, India struggled on a sluggish wicket. The team was rescued by a 47-run sixth-wicket stand between Virat Kohli (43) and Jadeja (33 not out).

In this Champions Trophy, India have showed their batting muscle in every game. But the script turned out to be different on Sunday evening. The Edgbaston wicket behaved like a typical sub-continental deck with balls coming slowly off the pitch and affording a lot of spin.

  1. Baba 10 years ago

    Major wins under MS Dhoni : World T20, World Cup, Asia Cup, Champions Trophy, Champions’ League T20 & IPL. apart from this, India was number 1 in both ODIs and tests for a brief while, first time ever under dhoni.

    • hithere 10 years ago

      And if you look at ceremony, he kind of doesn’t care attitude and let youngsters hog the attention. He knows, it his records which would speak when they would talk about Indian cricket.

  2. sputnik 10 years ago

    Congrats to all.

    Dhoni first captain with all ICC titles

    “ODI World Cup. World T20. World No. 1 in Test cricket. Champions Trophy. World’s No. 1 ODI side. All of this under MS Dhoni’s watch.”

    • ank_16n 10 years ago


      copy cut paste aap bhi from twitter. 😀

      • sputnik 10 years ago

        I used quotes. It was a tweet from Cricinfo.

  3. ank_16n 10 years ago

    i think kholi is the lucky charm of india at ICC
    under 19 WC then main WC and now
    champions trophy..!!
    he will be Indian captain in another 1.5-2 years
    hopefully..!! 😀

    BTW congrats to Dhoni and co..!! 🙂

    ishant sharma aaj aap lucky nikle kyuki morgan
    fuddu nikla.

  4. Author
    I.One 10 years ago

    A good if not very good article on Dhoni –

    ‘Captain Cool’ Dhoni in a league of his own

  5. Author
    I.One 10 years ago

    Team of the Tournament: (in batting order) Shikhar Dhawan (India) -363 runs, Jonathan Trott (England)-229 runs, Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)-222 runs, Virat Kohli (India)-176 runs, Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)-173 runs, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper/captain) (India)- 27 runs, five catches and four stumpings, Ravindra Jadeja (India)-12 wickets & 80 runs, Ryan McLaren (South Africa)-83 runs & eight wickets, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)- six wickets, James Anderson (England)-11 wickets, Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand)-11 wickets, and Joe Root (England)-173 runs.

Leave a reply

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?