Rowdy Rathore Review

Rowdy Rathore is pretty much a scene-scene dialogue-dialogue remake of Vikramarkudu and the original movie is crap too.

Liked the initial stealing scenes and the scene where Akshay tells Sonakshi that she will constantly think about him for the next 24 hours and the scenes immediately after that. Liked the last fight scene of Akshay where he kicks the villain.

The movie is named Rowdy and one of Akshay’s characters is not even Rowdy – he is just a small time thief. Vikram Rathore has some weird brain tumor where he needs water on his head to come back to normal and bash the villains. Akshay doesn’t mind when another cop is stripped but when he is asked to strip he gets the guy killed and mouths a dialogue about Vardi.

Now Yashpal Sharma and the lady cop con the thief Akshay Kumar to have the girl stay with him just because he resembles the girl’s father.

There is a disturbing scene where the cop’s (Yashpal Sharma) wife is kidnapped and kept by the villain’s son. So he goes there with his kids and he is told that she will be returned in 2 days. Now apparently no woman is safe in this town but there is a lady police officer working perfectly fine.

Sonakshi doesn’t have much of a role except to display her navel and get it pinched. Feroz Khan covered Hema Malini’s large forehead with a bandana like thing in Dharmatma and directors need to do the same with Sonakshi.

Akshay acts well in both the roles though there is not much change between the two characters. They could have given him some karate/kung fu action as Vikram Rathore atleast. Why take Akshay in a action movie and not utilize him for what he is good/famous for.

The movie is supposed to be set in some Devgarh village in Bihar but the village looks like a typical village you see in South Indian movies. You can clearly tell that most of it is shot on sets especially the scenes outside the Devgarh station.

And why would anyone hire a South Indian actor in a Bihari crime lord role and then have someone else dub his voice? There are lot of actors who could have done that role. What’s strange is that they had Vineet Kumar (Droh Kaal, Shool), a Hindi movie actor from Bihar, play that role in the Telugu movie but chose Nasser to play that role in the Hindi version.

Yashpal Sharma has such a stupid role but he still acts well.

The second half is anything goes B-grade masala crap which not only reminds you but also looks like those bad 80s masala movies.

Tags:
26 Comments
  1. Baba Ji 7 years ago

    Good review sputnik.i wil see it and then again read ur review.looks like it is a bad film.

  2. Ritz 7 years ago

    Sputnik,

    This is your review?

    “Sonakshi doesn’t have much of a role except to display her navel and get it pinched. Feroz Khan covered Hema Malini’s large forehead with a bandana like thing in Dharmatma and directors need to do the same with Sonakshi.”

    I dont get this discussion at all. I have read this forehead thing one more time somewhere else. I mean comeon, when ppl dont mind SRK’s HUGE nose for years now, why should Sonakshi’s forehead matter? She is just fine.

    Has anyone seen Bobby Deol/Kareena Kapoor or Vinod Khanna face? – they have HUGE FACE . And its considered sexy.

    Its not like she has Huge forehead/face and body of Aamir Khan. the midget. – her overall frame is large. And she looks just fine.

    Well…IMO 😛

    • Baba Ji 7 years ago

      ritz,srk is not a herione.Herione prime job is to look good especially in madrasi remakes which are sexist, male chauvinist films where they r just glam dolls ,not performers.

      • Ritz 7 years ago

        Baba,

        “madrasi remakes which are sexist, male chauvinist films where they r just glam dolls ,not performers”

        I completely agree with this sentense. I have seen many south Indian so called good films wherein heroine is just a “toy”….

        But I dont agree how u classify looks on basis of madrasi (south indian) – my observation was in general – not north or south.. and Sonakshi looks good. 🙂 (she is not my type and btw)

        Her face is in proportion to her body.

        Just try to imagine her with a smaller forehead and face with the same body … will it look good?

    • Author
      sputnik 7 years ago

      Yes its my review.

      The forehead was very distracting to me. And may be it also depends on the role – if one has a good role and acting well then forehead might not be that distracting 😉

      I did not mind SRK’s big nose until recently when his nose seems to have become bigger and fatter.

      I don’t care/bother for male faces that much.

  3. John Galt 7 years ago

    “And why would anyone hire a South Indian actor in a Bihari crime lord role and then have someone else dub his voice? There are lot of actors who could have done that role. What’s strange is that they had Vineet Kumar (Droh Kaal, Shool), a Hindi movie actor from Bihar, play that role in the Telugu movie but chose Nasser to play that role in the Hindi version.”

    completely agree. That was one of the most stupid casting blunder.

    I liked the comedy in the film and the vikram rathore sequences too- the background narrative that yashpal gives to rowdy.

    “Yashpal Sharma has such a stupid role but he still acts well.”

    Yes Indeed. Also agree that the cop’s wife scene was very disturbing.

    Overall the movie was fairly entertaining- No real story but no dull moment as well.

  4. Milind 7 years ago

    Does re-make mean scene to scene copy? I detest that.yaar kuch to thoda dimaag laga lo.It is a bit disturbing.

    In south if a film is BB in telugu,they make it in tamil too. Like Bommarillu was made into Santosh Subramaniyam.BG too!

    • Author
      sputnik 7 years ago

      The initial stealing scenes are different from original. In original there were worse with hero shaving/tonsuring women’s heads.

      Also they seemed to have toned down the double meaning dialogues like “If you touch my Madhya Pradesh I will do something to your Andhra Pradesh” or something to that effect and heroine giving horny/enjoying expressions when her navel is pinched.

      In the original the villain is not even killed but left off as a beggar and they have killed him in the remake.

  5. Ritz 7 years ago

    I just shiver at the tought of someone like xyz remaking Pithamagan.

    To be frank, I didnt like Pithamagan, but to think of ANY….i mean ANY hindi hero matching the intensity of Vikram or Surya (esp Vikram) is unimaginable….

    • Author
      sputnik 7 years ago

      WTF “Paradesi” Reality Teaser- from director Bala of Pithamagan

  6. Author
    sputnik 7 years ago

    I forgot to mention about the walkman and the audio cassette that the girl keeps listening to. Do they still use walkman and audio casettes in India?

    • Baba Ji 7 years ago

      hahaha….its like the “Golden jubilee” mention in that crap song jhal wallah in Ishaqzaade 😀

  7. hithere 7 years ago

    I think the villain’s voice was not dubbed. It was easy to decipher that guy is South India from accent. And they were switching between Hindi and Bihari at will. Normally goons in that part have “gamcha” than a roomal in neck.

    I didn’t mind the movie but the thing is that quality of movies these days is given by box office experts.

  8. Serenzy 7 years ago

    Why dont u guys Rate a Movie out of 5/10..???

  9. sanket porwal 7 years ago

    Sputnik- Well I won’t comment on your review because our tastes do not match a bit.

    About walkman, yes people still use it. In-fact my small bro uses it quite often. Even my college-mate keeps on bringing walkman to college despite of having very impressive mobile model.

    And walkman was the only option in the film. They couldn’t have showed an I-pod for that!

  10. Author
    sputnik 7 years ago

    @Serenzy,
    Well Sanket said my ratings are too generous or too strict. So I thought he made a good point and I decided to not give a rating. But now he says “our tastes do not match a bit” 🙁

    @John Galt,
    Yes the movie was not boring but then a lot of so called bad movies were not boring either but people did slam them 😉

    @hithere,
    Yes BO experts seem to be deciding the quality of movies nowadays. If we are going to call these movies as fine/watchable I think we should all start calling the movies of 80s and 90s – especially Himmatwala, Mawaali as also good.

    ——————–

    Of the recent masala movies I liked Dabangg because of its partly cheeky/spoofy tone. Salman seemed to be having fun – kind of winking at the audience. Agneepath was more like a tribute to the 80s/90s masala movies. Both of these were not South Indian movie remakes.

    I did not like Ghajini, Wanted, Singham and now Rowdy Rathore. I watched Pokiri the original of Wanted before the remake and thought it was ok. So may be I just don’t like these South Indian masala/action movies.

  11. Ritz 7 years ago

    Finally saw RR last week. And its very entertaining. Loved it.

    Akshay was very good in both roles.

    I want to say something about direction. Prabhudeva tried to be very authentic for UP/Bihar – but in many scenes it looks like a southie movie ,…..and I am not at all talking about action element.

    Look at the below scene 0:05

    What naseer does with his tongue is very very south indian style….

    In the film, his son also does the same with the tongue in a couple of scenes.

    • hithere 7 years ago

      Villain was mouthing Bihari dialogues with good amount of South Indian accent 🙂

      • Ritz 7 years ago

        rks, thanks . I havent been to those regions so I dont know the accent – only seen bihari/UP accent in films etc….. but this tongue style was distinctively different – and for me it looked so out of place.

    • Ritz 7 years ago

      I dont know much about andhra/telugu culture – but yes in tamil films this style is very much popular. And its not popular only now….its a traditional thing I guess. You see sculptures in temples (ancient temples dating back to pallavas // 7th to 10th century) showing this pose/face…

      I think its a authentic tamil/dravidian gesture/pose….

  12. Baba Ji 7 years ago

    saw the movie finally .excellent review sputnik. same as my views.

    ” Akshay doesn’t mind when another cop is stripped but when he is asked to strip he gets the guy killed and mouths a dialogue about Vardi.”

    ” Now apparently no woman is safe in this town but there is a lady police officer working perfectly fine.”

    “The second half is anything goes B-grade masala crap which not only reminds you but also looks like those bad 80s masala movies.”

    Perfect.

  13. Aditya007 7 years ago

    Well , Great You’ve watched the RR & Didn’t like Much .
    Except few % people ,everyOne liked the Movie . Even BOI admitt that RR wom is best After 2010 Dabangg release. And it also Proved in India’s 1st People Choice award .

    • Ritz 7 years ago

      Agree. RR was one of the best movies released this year.

  14. Serenzy 7 years ago

    My View on ‘Rowdy Rathore’
    RATING – 3.5/5

    – Nice Timepass Fun if u go
    with a Gang of Friends

    – SUPER ACTION(A Perfect
    Mixture of OTT & Slick
    Action…

    – Nice Dramatic Scenes filled
    with Tension…Scene after
    ‘Pritam Pyaare’ Song is the
    Best of the Movie

    – Loads of Sonakshi “Belly”
    Show…She has No Talent
    whatsoever, is Overhyped
    and Cashing on other’s Success
    (Same like Kareena).

    – Akshay was Great as Shiva
    but Average as Rathore…Not the BEST Performance Acting
    Wise…Decent Enuf.
    He was Better in Patiala
    House…But he Rocks the Songs & Action.

    – The Supporting Cast was
    Bad,OTT & Hamming!

    – Prahudeva is a Good Copy/
    Paste Director…RR was more “Southernised” then Wanted but Not a Better Product…
    But, does his Job Well

    – 1st Half was Funny &
    Entertaining….2nd Half
    Portions I liked but the Climax Sucked to the Core.

    – Songs were Good but a
    Hindrance to the Narrative…
    Pritam Pyaare was the Pick of
    the Lot…Looked Great on the Big Screen.

    Overall, 2hrs well spent post
    the Tedious Semester Exams.. Popcorn Entertainer, Desi
    Masala Ishtyle…!!! A Good ‘One Time’ Watch…
    Better than Housefull-2

    LINK: http://www.naachgaana.com/2012/06/13/rocking-rathore/

  15. Serenzy 7 years ago

    Serenzy June 13, 2012 at 2:16 PM (Edit) ·
    Reply Well-loved. Like or Dislike: 7 1

    The WOM in my Show was
    ‘Excellent’ and it was 100%
    Housefull Show at Mumbai
    Multiplex mostly Engg
    Students. Masala Action is here to stay
    but soon the Bubble will Burst
    aftr a Saturation Point.

    My Predictions on RR were @ 130-135cr Pre Release.


    :smug:

  16. Serenzy 7 years ago

    Where does RR stand IMO
    compared to Similar Movies
    Post2008 :-

    I] Movie Content Wise

    Wanted – 4/5
    Agneepath – 4/5
    Ghajini – 4/5
    Singham – 3.5/5
    *Rowdy Rathore – 3.5/5* Dabangg – 3/5
    Force – 2.5/5
    Bodyguard – 2.5/5

    II] Lead Actor Acting Wise Salman Khan (Wanted)
    Ajay Devgn (Singham)
    Salman Khan (Dabangg)
    Hrithik Roshan(Agneepath)
    Aamir Khan (Ghajini)

    –> Akshay’s Shiva/Rathore Not in My Top5

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

Log in with your credentials

or    

Forgot your details?

Create Account