My Review Of Mardaani

mardaani Movie: Mardaani

Direct: Pradeep Sarkar

Cast: Rani Mukherjee and Tahir Bhasin

Writing review after many months. Have watched quite a movies, mostly on small screen and very few on big. Never wrote in more than 4 lines comment about a movie. But this particular movie “Mardaani” made me to write a short review and share my views so that people could not know about it, at least whoever reads this.

Movie is about crime branch inspector Shivani Roy (Rani Mukerji). She is in pursuit of an adopted girl. The early signs showed a simple kidnapping but further investigation reveals abduction by a drug and human trafficking syndicate, comprising of various politicians and gang leaders, the most fierce being Karan or Walt played by Tahir Bhasin.

Without going further about story I want to pass my judgment, that this movie is the most engaging movie I would have watched in last year or two. Most engaging because of a zero dull moment in the movie. Not a single song to boost of the music or the lyrics. Not a long initial credentials or credits at the start. Literary it makes you hook towards the screen right from the initial minute of its start.

Pradeep Sarkar deserves a loud applause for believing that a female actor can carry a movie and carry it to such a height and for marshalling resources so very well. Gopi Puthran an unknown write too needs to be cheered for this wonderful writing and of course thanks to Aditya for producing this movie.

Rani Mukerji as Shivan is her “best” till date. A police officers performance have been done and dusted for N number of times in Indian film industry. But still Rani has created her own niche with her stellar performance. She was indeed Mardaani. The villain Tahir Bhasin was the most impactful negative character to come across recently. Other support cast are near perfect too.

Forget Queen, all hail Rani and Mardaani.

Verdict: 4/5

 

Tags:
18 Comments
  1. cr7 6 years ago

    Good review .

    Didn’t like the trailers at all .But looks like this movie is good .Heard only good things about it till now .

  2. alfa.one 6 years ago

    @I.One – Fully agree with u. After a long time seen a movie on big screen and found it nice.

  3. Anjanpur685Miles 6 years ago

    Thanks for the review I.One. I may not see this in theater, but happy that Rani is getting some appreciation.

    Btw, didnt so many tamil/telugu movies already did this way way back in 80s/90s? I mean woman strong police – Vijayashanti and all!

  4. Baba 6 years ago

    just back from mardaani. its not surprisingly good but shockingly good. i was one of the few who had liked its trailer but wasnt sure of the film. its one of the film of the year so far. rani mukherjee is very good througout and the direction is very engaging. but the highlight for me is the villian tahir bhasin. one of the great villian characters in last few years. he is supercool and perfect evil. some critics were uselessly priaisng nawaz in kick. nawaz should watch tahir and learn how to act.its an issue based film but never bores. dialgues are good.there are two action scenes in the end . both choreographed really well and our useless big stars should learn how to choreograph fight scenes without seeking poor wirework. in the end though i wanted a stronger impact. the girls shouldnt have just beaten tahir which looked a bit filmy but should have used acid. that would have been fitting end. but nonetheless its miles ahead of any film released recently.

  5. yakuza 6 years ago

    Good .. Even I liked promo, will def. see movie in few days. It grew well at box-office on Saturday.

    • Baba 6 years ago

      it might sound a bit overboard but tahir bhasin in mardaani is like amjad khan in sholay. not similar roles or similar acting but similar pattern. a completely different kind of young debutant villian (just like amjad was in sholay) whom you will remember after you leave the theatre.

  6. sanket porwal 6 years ago

    Sanket’s review: “Mardaani” is hard hitting and intrusive drama.
    I have some reservations with the title of the film- why name it Mardaani when the whole film relies on a female protagonist and trying to extend the power to females? The title transmits sentiments of strength, but naming it “Mardaani” is kind of snatching the power from women’s belt by conveying “if you are strong, you are mard”. Sexist? May be.

    But that’s just a small complaint. I am surprised by the film entirely, save for the unacceptably silly climax. The film is written so smartly that its hard to be distracted even for a second. The film never really adds any sub-plots to cook it up and that’s why “Mardaani” hits the nail in its 115 minutes run time.

    The film is intrusive, hard-hitting and insightful and the director deploys the best of his aesthetics to amalamagate everything into his film. Look how unusually sets up the story without making any brouhaha by adding any aesthetics. He knows he has a story and hence he didn’t really fall for any cinematic liberty.

    The episodes one after the other catches the attention and it involves you in the sentiments of victims. Brutality, thrills and drama is blended so well that the film remains coherent almost throughout.

    Although the climax really could have been more real especially because the whole film is executed pretty much with maturity. And yes, the emotional turmoil of Rani Mukherjee and her husband should have been concentrated upon.

    Sarkar narrates the story within a smart flow and never going for flashback gimmicks to cover any bankruptcy, because there’s hardly any.

    Mukherjee knocks it out of the park. She brings so many emotions to her character that you feel connected to her and hoot for her. Its a very restrained performance and that is what works immensely in her favor. Kanagana’s performance in Queen has got some real competition here. Not to forget the sinistrous villain portrayal by the young Tahir Bashin. He is constatly been referred as “Junior” in the film but he does commendable job.

    Barring few nitpickings, Mardaani encompasses through unfortunate incidents of sex trafficking and does a justice to the topic. It throws surprises not just in terms of writing but in almost all departments. Its not really the kind of film I would like to watch again, because its hard to. But for its sheer audacity and bold execution, it deserves a must-watch status.

    3.5/5

  7. FS 6 years ago

    Mardani – Fucking Awesome movie. No words 5/5

  8. alfa.one 6 years ago

    @ Sanket -“but naming it “Mardaani” is kind of snatching the power from women’s belt by conveying “if you are strong, you are mard”. Sexist? May be.”

    Remember ??? – “khoob ladi MARDANI woh to Jhansi wali rani thee”

    On one side we talk of woman is equal to man but at the same time praise her braveness by comparing her with man !!

    • Anjanpur685Miles 6 years ago

      men and women equality is a hoax and a bullshit idea. Both are different and will remain so.

  9. sputnik 6 years ago

    This is hilarious. Proof That Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus.

  10. Baba 6 years ago

    i was having a discussion on mardaani with a friend. one of my fav films this year.the only improvement i cud think of is the climax fight.rani should have given him a more torturing death.impact of final scene was missing.i wanted this type of fight scene , especialy the way it ends

    https://youtube.com/watch?v=c6BFSRca3rY

    i wanted rani to slash each body part of the villian in the end using krav maga techniques.then impact wud hv been made.the choreography should have been like this – since the villain is a guy, he manages to overpower rani even though she is trained in krav maga. but rani wins the battle by using kama and slahes all his body parts by the end.that wud hv given everyone goosebumps and it wud hv been a realistic superb fight

    • Baba 6 years ago

      the raid 2 final fight gives me goosebumps.i end up crying always. specially in the scene where he starts slashing al his body parts- i get tears in eyes due to excitement 😀

  11. shezad 6 years ago

    Baba your list in most liked for the following film: ipman 1; ipman 2 ; the raid ; the raid 2

  12. shezad 6 years ago

    Raid 2 above ipman. Wow.
    Havent seen the raid 2 yet. But ipman and the raid 1 Was wow wow wow.
    And i also really liked ipman 2.
    For me its ipman 3 wich is crap

  13. Baba 5 years ago

    touching and inspiring

Leave a reply

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?