Boss Movie Review by Taran Adarsh

4

A.R. Murugadoss and Prabhu Dheva revived the trend of masala movies with GHAJINI [remake of the Tamil hit GHAJINI; 2005] and WANTED [remake of the Telugu hit POKIRI; 2006], respectively. The victory of these two films triggered off a plethora of masala entertainers, reminiscent of Bollywood of 1970s and 1980s. Almost every actor in Mumbai decided to hitch the bandwagon. The dream merchants and storytellers too felt that they had finally found the formula for a hit. All of a sudden, the Hindi film audience got a taste of logic-less laughs, unrestrained masala, groovy tunes and popular Southern-styled stunts. In short, old-fashioned entertainers were back in vogue.

Post the humungous success of ROWDY RATHORE [remake of the Telugu hit VIKRAMARKUDU; 2006], Akshay Kumar waltzes back to no-holds-barred formula, unleashing yet another runaway entertainer — BOSS, the remake of the Malayalam hit POKKIRI RAJA [2010].

BOSS is a clear departure from previous Akshay starrers [OMG – OH MY GOD!, SPECIAL 26, ONCE UPON A TIME IN MUMBAI DOBAARA!], yet it has everything that spectators look for in masala fares — a daring hero with loads of heroism, the emotional chord between two brothers and their father, a corrupt cop, the fight between good and evil, a tadka of comedy, hummable soundtrack, clap-trap dialoguebaazi, lots of gravity-defying stunts… in fact, BOSS is a fast-moving roller-coaster ride that gives you no time to think. The film transports you to the cinema of yore, when the sole motive of a movie was to please, appease, amuse and entertain the spectators and reap a harvest at the BO. This one does that too: It offers entertainment by the bucketful and celebrates the formula with panache.

Final word? BOSS is *not* for those who find it fashionable to run down masala films. This one’s for those who feast on unadulterated, pure desi entertainers with glee.

The plot of BOSS is equally simplistic: Satyakant [Mithun Chakraborty] unknowingly kills a teenager and his eldest son, Boss [Akshay Kumar], takes the blame on himself. He’s sentenced to jail. When he serves his term and is released, Boss moves to another city. Meanwhile, Satyakant’s younger son, Shiv [Shiv Pandit], bashes up the Home Minister’s son Vishal [Aakash Dabhade], who’s harassing Ankita [Aditi Rao Hydari], the sister of a top cop [Ronit Roy]. All hell breaks loose at this point…

Director Anthony D’Souza tweaks the plot of POKKIRI RAJA to meet the needs of the time and make it more identifiable to the Northern audience. However, what remains intact is the intent of providing unabashed entertainment. Sure, the plotline is no great shakes — perhaps foreseeable too — but the screenplay is watertight, with no scope for bland and unexciting moments to seep in. Besides, Anthony maintains stability in both the halves, with ingredients that constitute a well-made masala fare peppered generously from commencement to conclusion. Besides, the film bears a slick look all through, with a couple of sequences leaving an indelible impact.

I’d like to make a note a few sequences here; Anthony has definitely evolved with BOSS, for sure. The emotional chord between Akshay and Mithun, the tense moments between Akshay and Ronit Roy and and the light ones involving Akshay and Aakash Dabhade are worthy of note. Ditto for the action between Akshay and Ronit in the finale. It’s simply wow!

Blemishes? Minor hiccups actually. The Shakti Kapoor track could’ve been avoided. The pacing in a few sequences could’ve been tighter.

BOSS is embellished with a harmonious soundtrack, balancing between zestful and soft tunes. The reprising of ‘Har Kisiko Nahin Milta’ from Feroz Khan’s JANBAAZ is a clever move. ‘Hum Na Tode’ is another catchy composition and the presence of Prabhu Dheva is a bonus, while ‘Party All Night’ is already a rage. Action/stunts [ANL Arasu] have atypical visuals of the hero proving to be a one-man army for whom bashing a dozen goons is a cakewalk. However, three sequences stand out. One — Akshay’s intro, two — when Mithun visits a dargah with his sons and the fight that ensues and three — the penultimate fight. Dialogue [Sajid-Farhad] are punch-packed. The witty and sober lines are written with equivalent flamboyance. Cinematography [Laxman R. Utekar] is eye-catching, with several wonderful visuals.

Much of the film’s charm and appeal lies in watching Akshay Kumar playing to the gallery. Sure, Akshay is synonymous with entertainers, but his approach to the character in BOSS is way different from what he enacted in his earlier masalathons. Clearly, he’s the mainstay of the enterprise. Also, he looks much more fresh than his previous fares. Mithun Chakraborty is remarkable, enacting the part with utmost sincerity. Danny Denzongpa is wonderful, as always. Ronit Roy is the worthy nemesis to Akshay, who does the menacing act with flourish. He’s absolutely loathsome.

Shiv Pandit has undeniable screen presence and he makes sure he stands out in a film that belongs to Akshay predominantly. Aditi Rao Hydari is pure eye candy. Johny Lever provides some funny moments. Parikshit Sahni is alright. Govind Namdev is apt, while Aakash Dabhade [as his son] is super. Sanjay Mishra is decent. Sudesh Berry, Mukesh Tiwari and Shakti Kapoor appear in cameos.

On the whole, BOSS is a full-on masala entertainer that’s very clear of its intent. It is designed to magnetize lovers of desi commercial cinema and woo the BO. If you savor and relish old-school masaledaar entertainers, BOSS is sure to win you over. Watch this one — it’s a paisa vasool entertainer!

Link

Tags:
28 Comments
  1. krish saini 6 years ago

    #Boss By Desi Martini !
    Verdict – Boss is an enjoyable film : 3/5

    Storyline-3/5
    Direction-3/5
    Acting-3/5
    Cinematography-3/5
    Music-4/5

    The reason why it works is because it remains consistent. It keeps providing the goods at regular intervals and rarely goes overboard making sure it stays away from being unwatchable. It could have benefited with a better ending but Boss is never boring and mostly enjoyable. Going by the state of a million masala films today, I say that’s not a bad thing at all

  2. krish saini 6 years ago

    BOSS Review !! #Koimoi

    Rating: 2.5/5 Stars (Two and Half Stars)

    What’s Good: It is a solidly magnetizing film which yields Akshay’s star power to the fullest. Filled with flattering dialogues and solid action, the film is an adequately superlative masala flick.

    What’s Bad: Over-the-top melodrama and incoherent romantic track between Shiv Pandit and Aditi Rao Hydari teamed with a diluted screenplay.

    Loo break: Some.

    Watch or Not?: Boss is an exceedingly noisy film and yet is tremendous fun in parts. Vividly conventional, Anthony D’Souza’s Boss fits in the unoriginal moulds of Bollywood’s recent recipes of masala flicks. However, the overused plot still manages to solidify simply because of Akshay Kumar’s panache that makes the film’s pulverizing action so delectable. There’s no reason why you should miss savoring this tremendously winsome whose beating to the pulp action will have you from the word go!

  3. krish saini 6 years ago

    bollywood3.com Rating : 3.25/5
    Producer:Ashwin Varde
    Director:Anthony D’Souza
    Music Director:Meet Bros Anjjan, Chirantan Bhatt
    Starring:Akshay Kumar, Mithun Chakraborty, Aditi Rao Hydari

    After the not so successful Once Upon a Mumbaai Dobara, Akshay Kumar is back with yet another action comedy in Boss. Directed by Anthony D’ Souza, this action comedy has Shiv Pandit, Aditi Rao Hydari and Ronit Roy in other lead roles. We have been to a special screening of the film and lets see how the film turns out to be.

    Story:

    The film starts off with a flash back of Boss(Akshay Kumar) and his younger brother Shiv (Shiv Pandit), who live in a village in Haryana along with their father (Mithun Chakraborthy).

    Boss, being a short tempered boy ends up getting into a major tiff with his classmate and lands himself in jail. Fed up with his son, Boss’s father disowns him. Things make a u-turn, and Boss is adopted by a kindhearted gangster, Big Boss (Danny Denzongpa).

    On the other hand when the story moves to present day, Shiv falls in love with Ankita (Aditi Rao Hyadari) who is the sister of a ghastly cop Ayushman Mathur (Ronit Roy). While Ayushman is behind Shiv’s life, Boss comes to his rescue.

    Will Boss be able to take on the deadly Ayushman and save his brother. That forms the rest of the story.

    Positive Points:

    Boss is a remake of a 2010 Malayalam film Pokkiri Raja’ starring Mammootty and Prithviraj. But the best part of Boss is that it is not adapted scene by scene from the original. While the Malayalam counterpart was on a serious side, Boss is rather comical.

    After watching Boss, one can surely say that no one can stand close to Akshay when it comes to action comedies. He is splendid in every frame, and leaves no prospect of condemnation. From Akshay’s dialogue delivery to his funny expressions, he is in just top form.

    The action sequences between Ronit and Akshay is the one to watch out for. Ronit is awesome as a corrupt cop and is a master stroke in every way. Another good part about the film are its comic sequences.
    Other cast including Shiv Pandit and Aditi are pretty decent. Danny Denzongpa, Johnny Lever, Mithun, and Sanja Mishra do justice to their roles.

    Negative Points:

    The one thing that may disappoint the viewers is the movie’s same old masala theme. The script could have been a little more engaging. Also the climax is rather cliched and could have been unique, especially the over emotional parts between Akshay and Mithun.

    While the first half of the film goes at a decent pace, the second half drops its pace down, somewhere by the end. Shiv Pandit and Aditi’s romantic sequences in the movie are not impactful.

    Technical Aspects:

    The music album is quite strong especially the title track. Editing by Rameshwar S. Bhagat is sharp and Laxman Utekar’s cinematography is brilliant. The dialogues, whether comic or serious, have quite an impact on the audiences.

    Director Anthony has played smart in knowing what the Hindi movie-goers long for and has made his flick a pure masala entertainer. Even though his debut venture Blue turned out to be a let down, this time around he made a smart choice by opting to make something light and visually appealing.

    Verdict:

    On the whole, Akshay once again proves that he is the real boss of action comedies. Though this film has all the regular cliched commercial elements which all masala films have, it is still worth a watch.

    Bollywood3.com Rating –3.25 /5

  4. krish saini 6 years ago

    BO Capsule= 3.5*
    Box-Office rating-4*

    Akshay shoulders mammoth responsibility of carrying such a big enterprise with his charisma and complete package. He looks dashing and his action with some real seeti worthy dialogues simply blow you away. Watch out for chase sequence in 2nd half and comic fight at dargah!

    Ronit Roy again look lethal as a baddie cop and enlights every combat against Akshay. Music is big plus as one chartbuster after another keep you hooked. Watch out for ‘Hum Na Tode’ and ‘Party All Night’ in 2nd half, mesmerizing!

    Sajid – Farhad dialogues are another plus and lift the film few notch. Editing is sleek but camerawork is strictly decent.

  5. krish saini 6 years ago

    Nikhil Arora’s Review – Boss
    Boss- Party Yun Hi Chaalegi

    Verdict – Boss is an enjoyable film
    When I watched Once Upon A Time in Mumbai Dobaara I
    said sometimes when you step out of the theater, you can
    tell that a film will flop. Now, I would say sometimes you
    can also tell a film will be a hit. Boss will definitely work at
    the box office. Chalo hit toh hai but kya film fit hai? While
    the makers would say who cares! Certain section of the
    audience does and it would come as a surprise that the film
    is indeed entertaining and not besharamly repulsive. It is
    funny and sufficiently likeable.
    Okay let me stop and tell you what I loved about the most
    about this film. Akshay Kumar on whose shoulders the
    success of this film rests; who is publicized as the only
    hero in the film without a female lead; who should
    apparently be in every frame of the film, is NOT in every
    frame of the film. In fact, the star makes an appearance half
    an hour into the film. Yes, we see him after 30 minutes!
    Why, you ask? The other characters and the story is being
    set up. Yes, that can happen in a masala film. Watching
    this, in a film that could have easily not done so, won me
    over. Kumar also gets to make a typical movie star entry.
    Haven’t seen those done well in a while (outside of Salman
    Khan). The opening credits say Akshay Kumar “In & As”
    Boss. Haven’t seen that in a while as well. While I was busy
    spotting the 90s Bollywood touches (Danny Denzongpa for
    starters), a flashback comes smack in the middle of the
    film. Surprisingly, it works too.
    Boss, apart from being a comedy, is a father-son
    melodrama like Agneepath with violence everywhere. There
    is also a scene with a teenager being attacked viciously.
    Although, due to Akshay Kumar’s presence there is some
    comedy to make things light. The comedy is perfectly low-
    brow that does not have wit in its checklist but belly
    laughs. For example, there is a human rocking chair and
    cheerleaders in lehenga. There is also a catchphrase “Apne
    ko kya hai, apne ko toh sirf paani nikalne ka hai” which I
    confess, made me laugh every single time. Except once,
    which was surprisingly heartfelt and came out of nowhere.
    Akshay Kumar owns the film. He combines the comic timing
    he had in Singh is Kinng (2008) with the masala outpour of
    Rowdy Rathore (2012). While, he is certainly why the film
    ticks, there is no denying that the supporting actors lend a
    big hand. Mithun Chakraborty, Danny Denzongpa, Shiv
    Pandit and Aditi Rao Hydari are all adequate. Ronit Roy
    plays the villain – Ayushman Khurana. Most cop films
    these days show the cops as heroic do-gooders while the
    goons are the bad guys. Here, this notion is reversed. With
    the help of the Joker theme from The Dark Knight and
    obviously Roy’s acting skills, the villain is not a caricature.
    Well he sort of is, but not a caricature we have been seeing
    over and over again. The only actor I wish was utilized
    better is Johnny Lever.
    There are two remixes – Har Kisi Ko Nahi Milta and Apdi
    Pode, both could have been better. The two songs I find
    myself listening to a lot are the title track and Party All
    Night. Party All Night is perhaps the most fun song you will
    dance to all year. I am a fan of Honey Singh’s music and
    this, my humble mitron, is the real deal. (There is a tiny
    moment where Mr. Singh is warming his hands with the
    invisible heat generated from the hotness of a lady. That’s
    right.)
    As you can see I have expressed surprise a lot during this
    review. Well, the surprise is not out of cringing. I was
    mainly surprised at a commercial film catering to the
    masses but not being a substandard product. It is a
    product, still, but carefully assembled and not haphazardly
    thrown together. The film is not great but it works. The
    reason why it works is because it remains consistent. It
    keeps providing the goods at regular intervals and rarely
    goes overboard making sure it stays away from being
    unwatchable. It could have benefited with a better ending
    but Boss is never boring and mostly enjoyable. Going by the
    state of a million masala films today, I say that’s not a bad
    thing at all.

  6. sputnik 6 years ago

    Boss Movie Review by Rajeev Masand

    Rating: 1.5

    October 16, 2013

    Cast: Akshay Kumar, Mithun Chakraborty, Danny Denzongpa, Ronit Roy, Shiv Pandit, Aditi Rao Hydari, Govind Namdeo

    Director: Anthony D’Souza

    There’s an unwritten rule in film reviewing: thou shall not be prejudiced against a movie before watching it. Ironically, that rule must be sidestepped if one attempts to review an Akshay Kumar film with fairness. Think about it. Unless you’re able to accept and move on from the fact that a majority of his movies are brainless, tasteless affairs, how do you survive a film like Boss while still trying to be fair to it?

    The problem here is that despite making those concessions – the movie requires that you apply neither common sense nor taste – Boss is still a pretty forgettable film.

    Akshay Kumar bashes, slams, clobbers and punches his way through the 2 hours 24 minutes running time of this movie, even as the sound of every crunched bone and displaced jaw echoes through your ears. Akshay’s playing Boss, a good-humored goonda who accepts a contract to bump off Shiv (Shaitaan’s Shiv Pandit), an innocent fellow in love with a sadistic police officer’s sister. The cop (Ronit Roy) has promised to marry his sister (Aditi Rao Hydari, memorable only for a ‘bikini moment’) to the idiot son of a corrupt minister he’s in cahoots with. But Boss learns that Shiv is in fact the brother he was estranged from when their father (Mithun Chakraborty) disowned him as a child.

    Directed by Anthony D’Souza, who helmed that awful underwater adventure Blue, this remake of the Malayalam hit Pokkiri Raja is packed with lengthy flashbacks, cringe-inducing melodrama, and the kind of pedestrian dialogues that evoke memories of bad 80s potboilers.

    The action scenes are surprisingly gruesome, their effect amplified by the sound design. The film’s gags, meanwhile, are uniformly juvenile. Roughly half a dozen times, bad guys are kicked or whacked in the crotch; another time Akshay asks a fellow to be careful where he’s sitting or a nail might hurt his “ande”. He plants a bomb in a bad guy’s backside naming it “Bum chiki bum” even as Shakti Kapoor shows up with a pair of pliers to disengage it from the man’s anatomy. And in one scene, talking about a girl he rescued, Akshay says he regards her as his sister, after whom he named his truck “Behen ki lorry”. Get it?

    Only occasionally you catch glimpses of Akshay’s famed comic timing, especially in a scene in which he mock fights with Shiv to throw off the bad guys. Talented actors like Mithun Chakraborty, and even Danny Denzongpa, playing Akshay’s adoptive father Big Boss, are completely wasted, while Ronit Roy as the permanently scowling cop appears to be the only actor taking this drivel seriously.

    I’m going with one-and-a-half out of five. Neither original, nor entertaining, this Boss deserves to be fired!

    Link

  7. John Galt 6 years ago

    I thought Rajeev Masand had some sense..but he’s opinion is not worth a dime for me, after his 5 on 5 perfect review for Lunchbox.

    I think what Baba said previously does matter for movies- Keeping your expectations right for the kind of movie you are watching.. Not about keeping them high or low but keeping them right- as far as the type of movie is concerned.. You can’t expect anything meaningful from SOTY , but if you expect cheese from SOTY and it fails to deliver cheese then SOTY is a disappointment, not otherwise….If you expect masala entertainment from K786 and it cant even entertain you- then K786 is a disappointment..but if you went looking for realism in K786/Bodyguard and then were disappointed..then its more of your fault than the movie’s.

    • sputnik 6 years ago

      I think social media is the cause for that 5 on 5 review for Lunchbox. The critics now have to give great reviews to some movies to be considered cool or still relevant.

      Rajeev Masand very rarely gives good ratings to Akshay’s movies. He gave Special 26 3.5 stars but he gave even OMG only 2 stars. Welcome deserved more than a 1 star rating that he gave. I think he has some personal grudge against Akshay. He once called Akshay a Jackass which I am sure he would never do to Aamir/SRK.

    • Baba 6 years ago

      the same rajeev masand reasoned for the 3 stars of soty that it must be seen for it is.he is always soft on kjo films. if anyone gives a 2/5 to OMG, then he deosnt deserve to be critic

  8. Bored 6 years ago

    Aamir/SRK never really goes down to the level of Akshay or Salman. I think Masand gets forced to review such films against his will due to his job.

    • John Galt 6 years ago

      really what was Chennai Express or Jab Tak Hai Jaan or Ra.one then?

    • Baba 6 years ago

      you can include hrithik and john in the list. pick the worst films of their career and you might not find crass dialogues in them.crap but not crass.i think 3i did have some crass dialgues.i think srk was ok in this list before ra1. in ra1 he crossed all the levels of vulgarity.

  9. John Galt 6 years ago

    Jab tak hai Jaan is one of the biggest bore ever made in Hindi cinema and this supposedly -forced to watch crap movies- reviewer gives it a 3 on 5

    Talk about being a kissA**

    http://ibnlive.in.com/news/jab-tak-hai-jaan-review-despite-many-script-problems-its-a-fitting-swansong/305423-47-84.html

  10. Bored 6 years ago

    As u said a bad movie in a genre doesnt mean the genre is bad. RaOne cud have done away with some crassy jokes, but overall none of what u mentioned is that lowbrow by nature. On CE u shud check the comments i hv previously made.

    I dont think Masand minds reviewing these, even though he may not like them.

    • John Galt 6 years ago

      Bored,

      There’s nothing like a bad genre..Its only the movie that’s bad. There have been really entertaining Masala movies like Singham or lets say Sunny deol’s Ziddi in the past..and there have been third rate ones like K786, ETT or SOS. CE is more of a comedy masala but its biggest flaw is that it fails to be funny or entertaining.

      JTHJ is equivalent to a low brow romantic genre. A torturous story, laughworthy sequences and absolutely pathetic screenplay…If thats not crap..then nothing is.

      • sputnik 6 years ago

        “Keeping your expectations right for the kind of movie you are watching” can be used as an excuse for liking any movie.

        I agree that JTHJ was such a bore and that Masand should not have given it 3 stars but the above excuse can be used for that too saying what did you expect from a Yash Chopra epic love story after having watched DTPH?

        Now I don’t know why people like Singham. It was neither here nor there. I liked Dabangg because it was making fun of itself in the action sequences with the cell phone ringtone and those funny one liners but Singham was taking itself so seriously and there were stupid flying car sequences. That whole climax was so ridiculous with all the cops meeting and then Prakash Raj running around town.

        Force and Agneepath are what I consider good serious masala movies which released recently. Had watched Ziddi in theater and don’t remember anything except the songs. Ghayal/Ghatak are good masala movies of Sunny from the 90s. Found ETT ok but did not like Bodyguard.

        Now coming to comic masala movies I thought CE was average at best and whatever I liked or found funny was mainly due to Deepika. I said Golmaal 1 and ATB are still Rohit Shetty’s best movies but then CE is many times better than a Besharam, Himmatwala, TMK in the same genre IMO.

        The crassness/vulgarity in Ra.One was totally inappropriate in a movie which was supposedly for kids and the screenplay was anything goes.

        • Baba 6 years ago

          when i said “Keeping your expectations right for the kind of movie you are watching” i said that in the context of what the movie set out to achieve.that is why i liked commando but not BMB. as a movie BMB is a far better film than commando. but commando delivered what it promised – realistic action. BMBs poster said “now you will hear the true story of milkha” and the movie had fabricated and formulized everything as proved by the real life race videos posted by sputnik

  11. Bored 6 years ago

    Galt – The likes of Salman/Akshay/Ajay has created an offshoot branch of masala movies that some say lowbrow and others say bastaardized masala. Its this genre that many like Masand laugh at. Dunno whats so difficult in this to understand?

  12. John Galt 6 years ago

    Sputnik,

    ““Keeping your expectations right for the kind of movie you are watching” can be used as an excuse for liking any movie.”

    Not really..If I am expecting an entertaining masala out of K786 and it fails to entertain me then it is a disappointment. I expected no timeless classic from Jab Tak hai Jaan (unlike srk fans), but I expected a romantic movie with some bad and some good scenes..(DTPH is not the only romantic drama movie yash chopra ever made..He has made chandni, Silsila, Lamhe too)

    instead what I got was a cheesy-all over the place -trying too hard to stand out- boring movie. even with the right expectations I was disappointed.

  13. Bored 6 years ago

    If anyone wants to equate a ridiculous genre like nonsense/lowbrow/bastardized masala with romance/romcom genres (forget serious masala) under the excuse of ‘entertainment’ – then its beyond debate imo. I wont be surprised if Masand also feels the same way (and this is not a defense for Masand, whom i rate no more than just a wannabe).

    • Baba 6 years ago

      i agree with suprabh that no genre is bad.a good film of any genre is worth it. i also agree with him that jthj and the south remakes are equal level craps .and if any of those entertain you, well best of luck to you.i have encountered a lot of ppl liking these films and trust me not a single person ever says why he really liked it.they dont want to come across as fools. they will only say “it entertained them” . nothing beyond it.its a nice excuse.you dont like anything for no reason.
      salman fans will be entertained by a supposed family film like ready having crass/lame dialgues like “ye nar mera baap hai aur ye maada meri maa hai”.but most of them wont give a chance to a content based film like veergati.

  14. John Galt 6 years ago

    Who gives you the authority to label a genre as basterdized or low brow and if you do want to do that- why not be fair and put the same criterion for everything.

    In my opinion, if you make a cheesy romantic movie with cliches galore- then its basterdized romance. If you make a sci-fi movie with a wafer thin plot like ra.one -then its basterdized sci-fi. If in the name of cool action – you come up with ‘Cash’-then its basterdized action.

    If you limit your scope to masala then its your narrow point of view.

  15. Bored 6 years ago

    An attribute called ‘common sense’ – and i am not interested in debating on this, sorry Galt.

  16. John Galt 6 years ago

    Its easy to hide under garb of such attributes. I am not saying I dont ever use such arguments, but then I make sure that I strictly put it as exclusive to mine. I won’t go out and say, that common sense makes me say that..because whats common sense to you maybe idiocy to some and vice versa.

  17. Tulmul 6 years ago

    BOSS ek he hain aur woh hain PANCHAM !!!

    Btw, Who is this Masand ???

  18. FS 6 years ago

    Geniune Question? Do you all seriously read Taran/Masand/Chopra’s reviews?

    It’s been 4-5 years, i have not read a single review of these critics, may be I have open the threads to know the stars. I read members reviews but never any of these critics.

    All these talks here abt regressive cinema, lowbrow, highbrow, bastardized version blah blah blah are nothing but opinions or views that always differ from person to person.

    I watch movies for entertainment (mostly) & neither to critic or preach directors nor to learn the art. I want my money’s worth (i.e, satisfaction) & i would definitely not pay 300-400 bucks for movies such as lunch box, a separation, baran, the willow tree, ship of thesus, etc… They are all good DVD watch… Same way Iam ready to spend money on few event films if the promos & songs are good because they provide enough entertainment for me. Different people have different priorities & expectations.

    Now if the movie is made well & entertains me, who the fuck cares what TA, Rajeev or our own wannabe intellect members tries to categorize it or run down the movie by their opinions or reviews?

    I like the way Sputnik and Suprabh share their views & hardly seen them labeling any particular movie unless they indulge in fanwars (i.e rare).

  19. Author
    aryan 6 years ago

    Boss Movie Review By Komal Nahta

Leave a reply

Log in with your credentials

or    

Forgot your details?

Create Account